Beyond PMO Consulting

"welcome to my personal blog," Ammar W Mango

  • about me

    Organizational Project Management Consultant, using profession as a platform for learning beyond just work. My passion is learning more about self, people, universe, and God.
    I am into Religion, Meditation, Yoga, and Tai Chi. I love learning about human behavior and motivation.
    I am a gourmand who loves healthy food and following latest research into health and natural healing and remedies. I jog and swim whenever I get a chance.
    Please write and tell me about yourself
    Welcome to my blog
    Ammar

  • New!

    PMPNOW Download Link

    Download my new Mobile App PMPNOW! FREE

Where did the time go? deducting human interaction from the day

Posted by Ammar Mango on August 23, 2012

I went into office yesterday with one main goal to achieve and it was not achieved.  Today, it seems I am heading in that direction.  Where did the time go? I was busy.  A recap of my day showed it was full of human interactions.  “Maybe I should lock my door so I get something done,” was the first thing that came to mind. It is very tempting to do that and I wonder how much of a challenge this is to managers.  Another angle to this is to reevaluate what we perceive as important.

Some might argue that the most value a leader offers an organization is primarily through human interaction, not from ideas the manager comes up with while hiding behind locked doors.  Neither should the manager be “doing” things himself.  Once he does, it is not “managing” anymore.  It is “doing.” The time a leader spends building awareness of her team, customers, competitors, opportunities, and even self is more valuable than time spent trying to do work of others.

Personally, I tend to underestimate the amount of time human interaction should and does take from a manager’s time.  Based on the above argument, the manager’s most important job is to interact with people, listen to them, coach them, learn from them, and find creative solutions from the team process.

In real life though, while some might agree with the argument on paper, they will fight it in real life, as managers and managers of managers.  Managers themselves have the insecurity of being deemed no-value-add if they do not “do” something themselves, or if they delegate too much of their work to their subordinates, or if they teach their “secrets of the trade” to the team members.  Managers of managers also usually have a problem with the manager not doing.  Their is no immediate, direct, and apparent value from the manager managing.  “I wonder if I can do without this guy,” is a thought a manager of managers probably thinks.  “Afterall, everything seems to be going smoothly,” she would think to self if things are going smoothly.  If things are not then “maybe it is not because this manager is not -doing- anything.”

I am interested in hearing from you on this.  What do you think?

3 Responses to “Where did the time go? deducting human interaction from the day”

  1. mohammad abu sbeih said

    It’s the balance between “Art” and ‘Science”; art of “managing” and science of “doing”. I agree with you that the most difficult thing managers face is to handle the work between what should I do and what should I delegate and manage; if the manager does all work then who will manage?, and if he just manages then he will be perceived – in the real life – as the one who does nothing.
    There’s no solution, what managers can do is trying to balance between what they should do and what they should delegate and manage, but I still believe that a manager of managers with high leadership style and a manager with high human communication skills and a hard worker team member is the most success” Recipe” to smoothen work environment.

  2. Jacqueline said

    I think everything posted made a ton of sense. But, think on
    this, suppose you composed a catchier post title?
    I am not suggesting your content isn’t solid., but what if you added something that makes people desire more? I mean Where did the time go? deducting human interaction from the day Beyond PMO Consulting is kinda boring. You might glance at Yahoo’s home page and watch how they
    write news headlines to get viewers to click. You might try adding a video or a related picture or two
    to get readers excited about what you’ve written. In my opinion, it could make your posts a little livelier.

Leave a Reply

 
